Call Us today
313-244-0669, (855) 313-BAIL(2245)

Blog

Michigan Crimes: Leaving the Scene of an Accident

You can be charged with leaving the scene of an accident even if you're not at fault.

Posted 4 years ago by Jim Titus


You know that leaving the scene of an accident is wrong, but do you know what you’re actually supposed to do after an accident? Do you have to call the police – every single time? Do you have to share insurance information with the other driver? Do you have to determine who is at fault, or does it even matter in Michigan?

Here are some of the basic facts you should know.

Leaving the Scene of An Accident: 5 Basics You Should Know

1. If your vehicles are driveable, you do have to pull over into a safe location and exchange information with the other party. That includes each driver’s insurance, license, and automobile registration information. You also should offer assistance if someone is injured.

2. You must call the police if someone is injured.

3. You can be charged with leaving the scene of an accident even if you are not at fault.

4. If you leave the scene, you can be charged with a misdemeanor.

5. If someone was injured and you left the scene, you could be charged with a felony.

No-Fault Insurance in Michigan

You can be charged with a felony or a misdemeanor if you leave the scene of an accident in Michigan, depending on the circumstances.Every Michigan driver must have at least the minimum basic insurance coverage in order to obtain a license plate.

If you are involved in an automobile accident, no-fault insurance would pay for medical expenses, wage loss benefits, the damage you do to other people’s property, and some types of replacement services, according to the state of Michigan.

While it does not matter who caused the accident when it comes to insurance matters, it could make a difference legally, such as in the event of lawsuits and criminal charges.

Misdemeanor or Felony?

Leaving the scene of an accident when only property was damaged is usually considered a misdemeanor. Misdemeanors are commonly punishable by 90 or 93 days in jail and a fine of about $500.

If someone was injured, however, the driver who fled the scene could be charged with several different types of felonies. If the accident was caused by someone’s drunken driving, for example, the driver could face drunken driving penalties on top of the charge of fleeing the scene of an accident.

You can face up to a year in jail for leaving the scene of a personal injury accident. However, it often depends on the severity of the injury and the driver’s condition at the time of the accident. A drunken driver involved in a crash that leads to someone’s death, for example, could face a felony charge of vehicular manslaughter or other similar charges. Felonies are punishable by more than a year in prison, but in the case of such an accident, the terms of the sentence could be very lengthy depending on the circumstances.

Get Help

If you or someone you know fled the scene of an accident, it’s important to seek legal help before turning yourself in. You also should consult with a Detroit-area bail bond agent, who can assist you in making financial arrangements.

For more information about the bail bond process and your rights, contact Detroit Bail Bonds at 313-244-0669 or info@detroitbailbonds.com.

 

Contact us if you have been charged with leaving the scene of an accident and need financial help.

Tags: ,

Leave a Comment

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial